Parish History

We are very proud of our long history and our location on the historic Guilford Green. In the 19th century, some of our earliest parish services were held in the historic Stone House. Later, in 1860 the parish bought its first permanent home, a store front on Whitfield Street. In 1876 the first parish church was built at 161 Whitfield Street. Today our cruciform church on the green evokes Colonial Williamsburg in its style and as a result of the renovations following a fire in June 1998 it embodies the most up-to-date liturgical decor.

St. George Catholic Church, Guilford CT

Mission Statement

At St. George our mission is to teach the ways of Christ, to carry the word of God in our hearts, and to reflect the face of Christ in the community by living the word of our Catholic faith with strength and humility. We do this through the Eucharist by promoting a sense of belonging to all age groups from youth to seniors, with many ministries available through stewardship.

Our Site

Welcome to the new St. George Church’s website. We have provided this website in the hope that you may learn more about our church and our faith. We hope this website will provide some interesting information about our church’s past, present, and future.

Mass Schedule

Saturday Vigil: 4:30 PM
Sundays: 8:00, 10:00, 11:30 AM
Daily Mass: 8:30 AM (Monday – Thursday)

Confessions:
Saturdays 3:30–4:00 PM

Parish Staff – Contacts

Fr. Stephen Sledesky x 207
pastor@stgeorgeguilford.org
Pastor

Father H. Alexander Avendano
fr.avendano@stgeorgeguilford.org

Sr. Kathleen Lynch x 201
Pastoral Associate srkathleen@stgeorgeguilford.org

Eileen O’Brien
x202
Financial Manager finance@stgeorgeguilford.org

Noreen Wolleben
x206
RCIA, Baptism nwolleben@stgeorgeguilford.org

Liz O’Connell x210
Office Staff, Bulletin loconnell@stgeorgeguilford.org

Kevin Buno and Dorine Bivona

Music Ministry

Margot Burkle & Susan Weady

Trustees

Anthony Sicignano

Parish Council President

George Asmus

Grand Knight, Knights of Columbus


Religious Education Staff

Office Hours | Mon-Fri 9:00am-3:00pm
Phone | 203-453-3496
Fax | 203-453-1707

Director of Pre-K and Kindergarten Programs
Jessica E Mularski | jessiemularski@gmail.com

Director of Elementary Education

Grades 1-6
Diane Birdsall | x205
dbirdsall@stgeorgeguilford.org

Director of Youth Ministry

Grades 7-12
Claire Nicholls | x209
Claire@stgeorgeguilford.org

Director of the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults

Noreen Wolleben | x206
nwolleben@stgeorgeguilford.org

Administrative Assistant

Lori Roche | x203
lroche@stgeorgeguilford.org