Parish History

We are very proud of our long history and our location on the historic Guilford Green. In the 19th century, some of our earliest parish services were held in the historic Stone House. Later, in 1860 the parish bought its first permanent home, a store front on Whitfield Street. In 1876 the first parish church was built at 161 Whitfield Street. Today our cruciform church on the green evokes Colonial Williamsburg in its style and as a result of the renovations following a fire in June 1998 it embodies the most up-to-date liturgical decor.

St. George Catholic Church, Guilford CT

 

Mission Statement

As unique disciples of Jesus, we seek to know, to teach and to reflect Christ by welcoming and serving others through our Catholic faith.

 

Mass Schedule

Saturday Vigil: 4:30 PM
Sundays: 8:00, 10:00, 11:30 AM
Daily Mass: 8:30 AM (Monday – Thursday)

Confessions:
Saturdays 3:30–4:00 PM

Parish Staff – Contacts

Fr. Stephen Sledesky x 207
pastor@stgeorgeguilford.org
Pastor

Father Faron Calumba
fr.faroncalumba@stgeorgeguilford.org
Parochial Vicar

Deacon Robert Tartaris
dcnbobt@gmail.com

Sr. Kathleen Lynch x 201
Pastoral Associate srkathleen@stgeorgeguilford.org

Eileen O’Brien
x202
Financial Manager finance@stgeorgeguilford.org

Cara Correll x 204
Baptismal & Family Ministry ccorrell@stgeorgeguilford.org

Liz O’Connell x210
Office Staff, Bulletin loconnell@stgeorgeguilford.org

Kevin Buno and Dorine Bivona

Music Ministry stgeorgemusic1@gmail.com

Margot Burkle & William White

Trustees

Anthony Sicignano

Parish Council President

George Asmus

Grand Knight, Knights of Columbus


Religious Education Staff

Office Hours |  Mon-Friday 9:00am-3:00pm
Phone | 203-453-3496
Fax | 203-453-1707

Director of Pre-K and Kindergarten Programs
Jessica E Mularski | jessiemularski@gmail.com

Director of Elementary Education

Grades 1-6
Diane Birdsall | x205
dbirdsall@stgeorgeguilford.org

Director of Youth Ministry

Grades 7-12
Claire Nicholls | x209
Claire@stgeorgeguilford.org

Administrative Assistant
Lori Roche | x203
lroche@stgeorgeguilford.org